Meet the Team


The Management Team

  • Wendy Pengelly – Director of Finance & Business Development
  • Claire Benson – Director of Rehabilitation & Reablement
  • Celia Payne-Humphries – Day Services Manager
  • Trudy Mayes – Counselling and Carers Manager
  • Georgina Baker – Outreach Manager
  • Dean Shearer – Facilities and Health & Safety Manager
  • Sarah Davey – Marketing and Communications Manager
  • Yvonne Summers – Administration Co-ordinator
  • Fiona McHugh –  Advice & Support Co-ordinator, Centre Co-ordinator
  • Patti Thirlway – Centre Co-ordinator
  • Tracey Jerrey – Outreach Co-ordinator

Our Board of Trustees

  • Michael Gaughan – Interim Chair – Michael joined the Trustee board in September 2016 to support the Finance and Marketing aspects of Headway. He is the former CEO of FWD Group which he founded in November 2000 as a strategic marketing agency for the Financial Services market in London and has extensive experience in the insurance sector having spent 35 years in a variety of underwriting, marketing, business development, corporate strategy, distribution, general management and board level roles. Michael advises a wide range of CEO’s and Board directors at clients across the UK and International insurance sector on significant high level corporate and marketing issues.In addition to his Trustee role he is a Fellow of the Chartered Insurance Institute, a Chartered Insurer, a Fellow of The Chartered Institute of Marketing, a Chartered Marketer and a FCA Approved Person.
  • Francis Lacy Scott – joined the Board of Trustees in 2004. He is currently Vice-Chair, having held the position of Chair from 2009 to 2015. Francis is a Partner at asb aspire LLP, a law firm specialising catastrophic injury claims, particularly in head and brain injury cases. Throughout his personal injury career, Francis’ interests have extended far beyond maximising compensation claims, one of his key concerns is to enable the effective rehabilitation of clients. As a result of his unique approach, Francis was previously awarded the National Lawyer Award for inspiration and innovation in the field of brain injury by UKABIF
  • Henrik Bjorn – Retired banker and sits on the Finance Committee
  • Mark O’Hara – Accountant and sits on the Finance Committee
  • Lucy Morewood – Marketing consultant providing advice concerning marketing and promotion of the organisation
  • Sally Hylands – Client and Carer representative
  • John Norris – Consultant Neurosurgeon
  • Michele Fleming – Former Chief Executive Officer
  • Dr. Catriona Good – Dr. Good joined the Board of Trustees in March 2013 to support NHS engagement.  She is a Consultant Neuroradiologist at Hurstwood Park Neurological Centre, BSUH NHS Trust, Honorary Senior Lecturer at Brighton and Sussex Medical School, Honorary Secretary of the British Society of Neuroradiologists and KSS radiology Research Lead. Catriona has extensive experience in brain and spine trauma and tumour imaging and skull base pathology. She has interests in neurodegeneration and dementia imaging and is involved in national and international research. She was a Wellcome Trust career development Fellow at the Institute of Neurology, Functional Imaging Laboratory and joint recipient of the IgNobel prize for Medicine 2003.